A Child’s Condolence Message

At Dad’s funeral (see also post of funeral homily from Jan. 30, 2015) we displayed condolence cards made by the children from my parish’s Parish School of Religion formation classes. There was one card that everyone seemed to comment on, including my Bishop, The Most Rev. Edward K. Braxton, who graciously came to visit that evening. Children have another way of looking at things and expressing the hope of eternal life. In the midst of sadness, this card brought the “Joy of the Gospel” to my family and friends.

Sympathy Card big screen tv frontSympathy Card big screen tv text For those who might not be able to read the handwriting;

Dear Mr. Father
Joe, I hope your Father makes it to heavin [sic] safely.
He will probably be able to watch the [St. Louis Baseball] Cardinal games
in heavin [sic], I’m sure God has a flat screen t.v. I
think he will be happy in heavin, he can fly! God will
take care of him. At dinner I bet he has an all you can eat buffet! Any
-way he will be fine,
Take care!
Sincerely, Megan
of the 4th grade P.S.R.

Note: Dad was a St. Louis Cardinals Baseball team super fan, which I guess I told the children about at some time. And whether my friend Megan knows it or not she has made some scriptural references: Flying in heaven might be related to Isaiah 40:25-31 where it is said “They that hope in the LORD will renew their strength,
they will soar as with eagles’ wings.” and eating at a buffet can refer to the parables of Jesus where he compares the Kingdom of God to a banquet (e.g.  Luke 14:15-24).
Megan is able to express our hope in the reality of the resurrected body in her own beautiful child’s way. Bless her!

Amen, I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it.”
Gospel of Mark 10:15

Sympathy Card big screen tv inside art

About frjcrascher

Pastor of St. Mary Catholic Church in Trenton, IL View all posts by frjcrascher

Comments are disabled.

